1. Rev. J. C. Allen (1885-1914) - "The Founder"

With the guidance of the scripture "Upon this rock I will build my church..." (Matt. 16:18), Rev. John Chappell Allen and associates in 1885, set up our present place of worship. Prayer services and revivals were the basis for the gradual expansion and development in what is now known as the Morning Star Baptist Church. The first deacon board consisted of seven (7) men along with the first clerk and treasurer.

Pastor J. C. Allen served Morning Star until his death in 1914. Under him, three acres of land were purchased for a cemetery. He encouraged the members to buy land for the church and also for themselves.

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Phases of Church Development